glutenfreepancake

So here we go! I decided to take a jab at making some gluten free pancakes. I really enjoy breakfast foods – so I decided to go with a good old classic pancake with fresh black & blue berries! I accompanied the pancakes with Siggi’s vanilla icelandic yogurt, this stuff is packed with protein. I also topped it with some black & blue berries!

But lets get to the fun stuff! the recipe calls for:

  • 1-1/3 cups bob’s red mill GF all purpose baking flour
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp sea salt
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/2 cup milk (you can use almond, soy, cow, goat…i used 2%)
  • 2 tbsp extra virgin olive oil
glutenfreepancake-2

To make my pancakes I used a cast iron skillet, so before I got all the ingredients together…I added some earth balance into the skillet and put the stove on med/low heat.

Combine all dry ingredients into a medium size bowl, then combine wet ingredients [including egg] into a small bowl. Whisk together wet ingredients. Once all wet ingredients are combined, add to the dry mixture and whisk until smooth. Take a ladle and pour pancake mixture into the skillet – arrange the berries and make the pancakes as you would normally.

I then topped my pancakes off with earth balance & a light drizzle of brown rice syrup. To say the least it came out delicious, this is definitely getting put into my recipe book! Enjoy!

