Several years ago my son, Nathan was diagnosed with Type 1 Diabetes. When he was admitted to the hospital, one of the blood tests they performed on him was for Celiac disease. This was the first time I heard the name Celiac before.

Though the tests came back negative, I chose to investigate further into Celiac disease. I wanted to find out why they were testing him for this disease. What I found out surprised me. Apparently, Type 1 Diabetes and those with thyroid disease (another endocrine disorder that I have) are both related to Celiac disease.

 

Many who have Type 1 Diabetes and thyroid disease either have Celiac at the time of diagnosis or in later years come down with the disease.

I chose to eliminate gluten from Nathan’s diet. What happened truly amazed me! For years, he was very sick. He had terrible tummy aches and spent countless hours in the bathroom. Many with a gluten intolerance or Celiac disease have problems with their bowel. My doctor diagnosed me with Irritable Bowel Syndrome.

As soon as I eliminated the gluten from his diet, he immediately felt better – no more tummy aches and his blood sugars also improved significantly. In a few months, I decided to also eliminate gluten from my diet. The same happened for me. I felt so much better! I no longer had rashes and itching, the numbness in my extremities went away and I had normal bowel function for the first time I can remember! Then, I decided to eliminate gluten from my other three children’s diets. Their health all greatly improved. I never realized just how sick we were.

Have you been tested for Celiac disease? It’s a difficult disease to detect. If you want to find out if gluten is causing you/your loved health problems, eliminating it from your diet is a quick and easy way to find out. It worked for me. I knew within a week that it caused problems in our families health. Now we feel better and our health has greatly improved.

Even if you do not have Celiac disease, you could have a gluten intolerance that is making you feel sick. Eliminate it from your diet for a week or two and see how you feel.

 

~Lori

