Gluten-free or not, one thing is certain if you have hosted Thanksgiving dinner this year. Y’all are going to be eating a lot of turkey this week.  Your dinner table may be hosting classics like turkey soup, turkey sandwiches and turkey a la king. In my family the turkey chili is always the most anticipated offspring of the Thanksgiving meal and we pair it with cornbread. This year, however, I have found a cornbread to rival the ghosts of all cornbreads past. And yes, it is gluten-free.

I know I’ve used the Bob’s Red Mill brand before in this blog to execute a gluten-free pizza crust, so I’ve returned to this brand for a gluten-free cornbread mix. The directions are super simple and this took very little time to prep and bake. You will need 1.5 cups of milk, two eggs and a third cup of oil or melted butter (I recommend the butter) to complete the mix, but make sure that all of your ingredients are at room temperature before you mix them. Bake for 25 minutes in a 9×9 pan and you are done!

A good, solid product is a lifesaver!

A good, solid product is a lifesaver!

I’ve used all manner of methods to try and produce a moist cornbread in the past- canned cream corn, vegetable shortening and yes, even lard, but none have held a candle to this mix. This outcome defied all properties of cornbread physics. The bread rose to a fluffy, golden mound in the pan, retained those delicious bits of crunchy cornmeal, and ate like a piece of cake. I was dumbfounded.

Fluffy, golden and beautiful.

Fluffy, golden and beautiful.

The six-year-old said: “It’s soft and sweet and salty.” That’s a good thing. She polished of a fairly large piece and asked if we could have it for Thanksgiving. The child is a genius. Cornbread stuffing with this recipe would be off the charts!!!

The 15-year-old said: “I don’t like cornbread.” I was surprised and argued, “You’ve always liked it!” She said, “I always just took a piece to be polite.” She ate her entire piece of cornbread smothered in butter.

The 39-year-old husband said: “I don’t think I’ve ever had cornbread like this. It’s so good.” I did not take offense. I think it suffices to say the man lived in Texas for five years.

I paired my hunk of cornbread with the creamed “Hottie Honey” I bought in my Pure Sprouts bin last week and it was divine.

Gluten-free cornbread and creamed Hottie Honey: A winning combination!

Gluten-free cornbread and creamed Hottie Honey: A winning combination!

Here is the turkey chili recipe I use, based loosely off a few different Cooking Light recipes I’ve combined over the years of producing turkey leftovers.

1 Tbs. oil
2 cups diced yellow onion (about 2 medium)
Chopped poblano chili to taste
1.5 Tbs. chili powder
1 Tbs. minced garlic
1.5 tsp. ground cumin
1 tsp. dried oregano
2 cans Great Northern beans, rinsed and drained
4 cups fat-free, less-sodium chicken broth
3 cups chopped cooked turkey
1 can diced tomato
1/3 cup chopped cilantro
2 Tbs. lime juice
1/2 tsp. salt1/2 tsp. freshly ground black pepper

Heat oil in a large Dutch oven over medium-high heat. Add onion and optional poblano chili; sauté until tender and onion is golden. Add chili powder, garlic, and cumin; sauté until incorporated. Add oregano and beans; cook for 30 seconds. Add broth; bring to a simmer until heated through.

Place a third of the bean mixture in a blender or food processor, and process until smooth. Return pureed mixture to pan. Add turkey, and cook 5 minutes or until thoroughly heated. Remove from heat. Add diced tomato, chopped cilantro, lime juice, salt, and pepper, stirring well.

