I don’t know about you, but all of this snow and cold has motivated me to fire up the oven whenever possible, so since we had a crust left from our last pie making experience I opted to make a quiche (also known as an “egg pie” to my Hungry Caterpillar). My son loves quiche because A. it’s a pie!  and B. he can eat it cold, which means instant breakfast the next day (and anything that eliminates wait time is a win in his book)! I love quiche because it’s easy to make, filling, holds well in the fridge (meaning a few quick meals from one small effort) and can be different every time you make it based on the veggies, cheese and meat you have on hand.  For this one I went with spinach, fresh garlic, mushroom and orange bell pepper, but you can combine whatever you like! You will need:

6 medium eggs*

About 1 ½ of veggies (raw or lightly cooked) & cooked meat of choice, chopped

½ cup shredded/ chopped cheese of choice

¼ of milk or half & half*

Salt, pepper, hot sauce or whatever else you like to use to season your eggs

Heat oven to 375 and blind bake crust as suggested for about 10 minutes. While crust is in the oven, crack eggs into a large bowl with milk and seasoning and then stir until thoroughly combined.  After you take the crust out of the oven, allow it to cool some before you add your veggies/meat (I used about a cup & a half or so—as you can see from the pic, the crust is pretty full, but not packed in any way) and pour in the egg mixture. Top with cheese, place on a baking sheet and into the oven.

20140114_090924

My quiche was ready in about 40 minutes, but I always start to check it around 30 minutes so it does not bake too long!

20140114_095139

*Note* depending on the size of your eggs you may need a little extra milk to fill the crust. Or if you only have large or jumbo eggs, you may only need 4 or 5 to fill the crust. I always measure by eye, so use your judgment and be careful not to overfill the crust!

~Jenn Gizerian, The Locavore’s Lunchbox

